Emily's Story

I started out in the disability field working in supported accommodation, with individuals with complex needs in New South Wales. I then supported these individuals with ISP planning, before a seachange to sunny Victoria. I have worked as a support worker under NDIS in Barwon: working predominantly with individuals on the autism spectrum, supporting them to live independently in their own homes and develop connections in their community. After finishing my Masters of Social Work, I worked as a support coordinator in Barwon, which gave me a valuable insight into the ongoing evolution of the NDIS.

NDIS Support coordination has combined my two passions: supporting people to effect change and achieve their goals, and research! I am a bit of a nerd and enjoy finding out information about different topics, and sharing it so that others can make use of it. I am passionate about supporting individuals to develop the skills and resources to live independently, and believe that the NDIS holds great possibility to help individuals to grow and develop. I aim to be respectful, person centred and hold a lot of gratitude for the opportunity to get to know individuals and support them through their lives.

Outside of my work life, I share a house with two Jack Russells and a cat: who runs the household. I am crafty, and enjoy all things yarn. I have also dabbled in making my own clothes, however still have a lot to learn! On weekends I can be found sitting behind the sewing machine or out on a hike.